Day One


The journey begins. While anxiously awaiting for my Fit Bit to arrive, my quest to get sexy and fit does not wait, so despite getting a nifty flower for my accomplishments, I get sweaty and gross. Does cleaning count for exercise, Fitocracy doesn’t think so, but MFP counts it, so at least there is that. The “BodyRock” attempt was a moderate success, in that I did not have the equipment necessary such as the weighted ball to really make use of it. Also, I did not record my scores for the time. Note for next workout, and also go to our shoebox gym for the medicine ball. Standard walks around the building give me a slight caloric edge.

Speaking of calories, so far so good. Well maybe not so good, according to MFP, I have only consumed about 775 of the recommended 1200. This doesn’t surprise me, even though I ate half a snack bag of chili cheese frito’s, I still only had a smoothie for dinner and very little  lunch. Will probably need to eat a second time later, probably chicken. This is the attempt of mine to maintain eating “normal” after my multiple 1000 calorie days last week. The 5-day fast forward from the Cinch plan by Cynthia Sass was awesome for losing bloatiness of sodium  and shedding a few pounds, but highly unsustainable and not really sure I am digging the rest of the book. Definitely a good easy plan to follow (only 5 things: eggs, spinach, almonds, raspberries, and yogurt) for looking good on beach vacation, but as with all crash diets, never something to do long term.

In other news, learning to code Javascript. This would be something I could never do when cutting calories. In my experience, my brain will not motivate me to do anything unless it has a little bit of sugar. Jackie Warner can demonize it all she wants to, but she doesn’t work in IT, I do. At least instead of reaching for the oh so yummy high fructose corn syrup (oh that makes you not able to learn, did you hear? – google it) I opt for things like fruit and you better never ever tell me to give up my coffee, goddamnit.  Was able to give up Diet Coke for a week, back on the wagon, but refocusing on cutting out the alcohol. Hey you got to have one vice, right? After the birthday, also determined to quit smoking once and for all. Not going to lie, having a SO who puffs regularly makes it quite difficult.

Otherwise, just tired, hopefully the HIIT style workouts and a renewal to my health/wellness will make me feel better and what is the point of anything unless it makes you feel good, right?

4 thoughts on “Day One

  1. Good luck with your fitness journey. I’m on a journey myself, trying to get back to last summer’s biking weight, so my doctor’s office will stop calling me fat. This is 10-12# that is just not moving. Today I bought a food scale and added the Easy Calorie app to my Samsung. These are tedious things but maybe they will help. .

    I have a few exercise tips on my blog and some info on target heart rate and heart rate monitors in older posts, as well as a few rants on what makes us overweight. Just search on exercise and fitness if you’re interested. Good luck.

    • Oh I do have a food scale, as well. I use My Fitness Pal for food tracking, and I got a FitBit shipping on my way. It was a tossup between this and the Nike Fuel, but the lack of android app and the fact that it tracks sleep AND is $50 really sealed the deal for me. I have about 15 pounds until I am at my “ideal”, for me it is a vanity thing, but it would be nice to say that I weigh the same as I did in high school (at 31!!) 😉

  2. Congrats on your journey. I am looking forward to seeing your progress. If there is any way I can help please let me know. My page has a few posts now. It will soon be flooded with awesome fitness information. If there is anything specific you would like me to cover just let me know by commenting on my page and I will be happy to address your situation. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

