Day Twelve


Yesterday, fueled by sugar-free Red Bull (ironically something I would have to give up on this program), I finished ISWF, and I have to say, this book is amazing. The Hartwigs really give you all the evidence and motivation to get started on your inflammation free journey with diet. It really isn’t junk science either, as something like an alkaline diet is. It is actual research based information, and they have cited their sources. (about 15 pages in 8 point font!). A huge plus in this read is that it really lays out all the information for you to make your own decision about if you want to continue to be at risk for diabetes and other chronic ailments or if you want to try an elimination diet for a month just to see what the effects are. It is one of those “what do you have to lose?” situations.

The Whole30 plan is very easy to follow. For one month, eliminate the following: gluten, grain, legumes, dairy, sugar/sweeteners, alcohol and tobacco. It is as they mentioned the training wheels to making a lifestyle change, so that ultimately you can have a healthier relationship (ie: less cravings and binging). One of their grey asides was that if you are struggling with quitting tobacco that it may be easier to focus on this before trying to take on this challenge. Since I only smoke when I drink am a social smoker, this shouldn’t be a problem for me, however for my bf I would only make the deal with him that he does the smoking part since his is more habitual. The plan seems quite empowering because it also mentions that you really do not have to eat what you do not want to. Occasionally, I will get tempted by my SO to just have “one bite” of something that I know is not really good for me, I feel like I have been given the okay to be a little less polite and a little bit more selfish, but in a good way.

Because I am an over-achiever, hah!, I went ahead and read the parts about integrating this system in your daily life. The grey side-bar “That ain’t special” towards the end of the book really resonated with me as well. Most of us will encounter a situation where well-intentioned co-workers will bring yummy breakfast items into the office such as doughnuts or breakfast tacos. While those are rather thoughtful, they can be detrimental for anyone who is trying to eat clean. The authors remind us that these little treats which, in my case, can be weekly are not really great and that you should not be tempted by something that really isn’t worth it. For the W30 program, that is going to be especially helpful to remember. Just say no! But, enough with the negative, the centerfold of delicious food in the middle of the book has already enticed me to start making paleo-friendly meals:

I guess I would like more from the authors in their views of exercise, perhaps an addendum entitled “…and then you move around”, you know just to get their researched based opinions on exercise and what is best, but if I had to wager, I would say that they are a lot like Mark Sisson’s views on “Chronic Cardio” which would be a-okay with me as I prefer yoga over running any day, with the occasional spin class thrown in. Overall, I would highly recommend this read, and I will be reporting with daily results of my own personal experiment.

Leave a Reply

