Day Twenty-Three


If this don’t make your booty move, your booty must be dead. Okay, so the thing about motivation is that you are only going to do what you want to do, and I am finally finally learning this. I don’t think that I am a lazy person, in fact, I have this to prove that I am not:

That was my report yesterday that tracked my 90 minutes, yes 90!!, of dancing that I did to some kickass tunes. Not sure how dancing is factored into the device. Just from observing the step monitor, it would register multiple steps if I was bouncing up and down. Oh, it is aerobic alright, very fun and very bouncy. One thing I would like to improve is the sedentary time that is being recorded. If you look at this chart:

I still have nearly 12 hours of sedentary. I am no expert, but I think someone who is really dedicating their life to fitness should have a maximum of 10 hours of being sedentary, just for health purposes, but at least the numbers (not sure how accurate considering the weight might be a little off) reflect that yesterday I burned 2200 calories, cue the naysaying, “exercise won’t make you thinner” refrains. Yeah, I would probably be skeptical, except for this fact from MyFitnessPal:

This indicates (today is negative because I haven’t tracked yet) that I am actually at a deficit when I factor in the movement I am doing, so fuck yeah! But, back to this whole motivation thing. Reading this article kind of inspired me to get off my tush, because really you are the only person keeping you from not moving around, unless you have already been pushing yourself to the limit (I hadn’t), there is no excuse not to at least do SOMETHING! The best slogan in the world: Just Do It.

Music motivates me a lot, too. Kickboxing and spin classes are great but the music that gets played is just plain awful in my opinion. The neighbors and I got to enjoy my own version of this dance party where I flailed my arms, kicked my feet, and hopped in a manner that would more closely represent Julia Louis Dreyfuss in the late 1990’s rather than a sexy go-go dancer which at one time I could claim to be, could I? Regardless of how ridiculous I looked, it was so much fun to get all fist-pumping to the build up and breakdowns of the beats. Maybe, I am just a sucker for sequencing, overly pronounced kick drums, and vocoded lyrics, but these tunes really get my ass a shaking:

Also this one a bit NSFW, but so stompy:

and here is one that probably would get played at a spin class, but as someone really into EDM, there is gonna be some top 40 thrown in:

It wouldn’t be dirty dance party, if we didn’t throw in some psy-trance, now would it?

Lots more of that same kind of intense music. Oh, yeah, diet.. Well, obviously it is going swimmingly. Yes, the cravings suck and for some odd reason I was incredibly tired this morning right after breakfast (2 eggs, and half of an avocado), but I got my second wind, think it was from listening to the music ๐Ÿ™‚
Happy Thursday, you sweaty featherpluckers!

4 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Three

    • Thanks! I had a groupon for this place that offers cardio kickboxing as well as sparring boxing. It is about to run out, so I think I am just gonna go back to the elliptical at my apartment’s gym, or start walking outside when it gets about cooler. Unfortunately, in Texas, that is not for about another 2 months ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

Leave a Reply

