Whole 30, Day 23


Stress, stress, stress, stress, stressity STRESS!! Was too busy at work to update yesterday, strangely enough I had one  my highest traffic days stats wise on the blawg. This morning I missed yoga, because I was fighting with my boyfriend. That’s always fun. So, what is the stress about, well, my dear readers, it is about money. I just don’t have enough of it. Admittedly, some of this is self-inflicted from purchasing a car in 2011 and having to finally pay back my student loans. There are other factors which make it difficult to get by, but I am not one to talk shit. I got a raise, and I am incredibly grateful for it, but it really wasn’t enough. I have to remind myself, however, that everyone is suffering, and to be brutal honest, even with my qualifications and skill, I am fortunate to have a job. Don’t let that detract from my awesomeness, though, because as you have read, the awesomeness of the Lauren is a force to be reckoned with, even if I feel mostly like this:

Okay.. now that this out of the way, we can just move forward. I know that I am still deviating from Whole30 (not enough to not count it, but enough to note it) by my consumption of fruit and coconut water. My boss had some Larabars, and I could have asked for one, but decided to use my own energy, okay mostly from coffee, to power through the day. So, my resolve is getting slightly better in eating sugars, but I know there will be at least one time it is truly tested.  My stepsister is having a dinner party this weekend, and it is so close to the end, I wish she could have scheduled it for September 1st, so I could have a least one martini, but life does not work that way, and sometimes you just have to put your big girl pants on and suck it up. The good news is that with the exception of this morning’s missed yoga, I have been able to keep up with my fitness. Yesterday, I almost made 10k steps with the help of some interval training. In Jackie Warner’s book, she said to just do jogging, sprinting and cool down rounds. Well, I varied it up a little bit and did: buttkickers, high knees, jogging in place, jumping jacks, and repeated butt kickers and jumping jacks for a total of  5 rounds.

From what I have read about the FitBit, I think it may be somewhat off in terms of the actual steps you are taking. Maybe it is a bit generous. From some reports, I have heard that it can be up to 1000 steps too many, and if you are wanting to keep things honest, then I think that is a bit of a cheat. However, if you consider things like stationery biking or cleaning where you are not moving your fit but your upper body, it may even out the extra steps that it gives you by not counting that as activity. Despite the metrics and calculation that this device provides, the idea of fitness optimization is quite mystical in that no one really knows with certainty what is absolutely right or wrong. At any rate, my favorite feature of it as I have shown before is the ability to show how active you are in different times of the day. The weekends are more of a win for me because I spend most of my hours cleaning. Now, that I have quit drinking, but still have a limited budget (hopefully the not drinking will lend itself to a bigger budget), I have a lot of nothing time and while I could spend it watching Hulu, but I would rather feel accomplished, so I become an Überhausfrau  and get to cooking and cleaning. Sunday was especially fruitful, between laundry, dusting, and vacuuming, I started my exercise program and was able to make a yoga class. I  even spent the time I was watching TV to cook lunches for this week, here are the stats:

The main thing I did differently was I had a to-do list that was very intense, but not overwhelming. Chores really don’t take that long if you are diligent and have a small apartment. So if you aren’t a total slob (have been guilty of this), you can get things done in a matter of an hour.  Productivity is best served with lists, and I cannot emphasize that enough. Yes, it is a pain in the ass to plan it all out, just get over it, and drink a heaping cup of coffee and do it.  Actually, it is almost enjoyable, I view productivity in my life as a bit of a challenge and game to see if you can get everything done in the set amount of time. I do realize the advantages that I have: no children, but other than that I have work and my own hobbies and interests that I don’t want to neglect, so it becomes a balancing act of tasks and work-life balance that can be a beautiful symphony when executed properly. When not, it is a cacophony of noise, that makes you want to scream, but who doesn’t enjoy some power noize once in a while, right?

Leave a Reply

