Paleo baking and almond meal


#nowplaying: The Cult – Pure Cult
Went to “The Egg and I” for breakfast this morning, and despite the multitude of Tex-Mex places that I have been to in Austin, I opted for the “Mexican Omelet” which included a flour (gasp) tortilla, seasoned fried potatoes (double gasp) and a tasty cheese egg and salsa covered wonder of an omelet. BTW, if you are thinking I am over-indulging, keep in mind I did walk about 5 miles at a 4 incline on the treadmill. Okay, so I did hold on the rails a bit more than I should, but hell 80 minutes of cardio should count for something, right Oh and a carafe of yummy hazel coffee. I only managed to get one snap, and that was after I completed my meal:

image
So, I attempted once again the Apple and Cinnamon muffins from PaleOMG, this time using more cinnamon and the right temperature for the muffins, success! So, yeah those were good, but for some reason I have had a gnawing sadness that just would not shake me today. Seriously, I have cried like 3 times today. It has been terrible, even with the caffeinated allure of Red Bull and copious amounts of coffee, I just have felt so lonely today. I feel like the friendships that I have built up in the past 5.5 years that I have resided in Austin have not meant anything, and that is a hard thing to digest. Really, the solution is to find some more compatible friends. I don’t think that there is anything fundamentally wrong with me as a person, but I can be a challenge to get along with, I certainly will admit.

image

So, yes, I freaking love baking apparently, but almond meal is very expensive. However, I realized that I actually have almonds on hand, and a quick search on google reveals that with the use of a food processor, this is super duper easy to make. I think you are supposed to use almonds sans skin, but I wanted to test it out with the halves that I have. The trick is not to grind them up too much, else you will end up with almond butter. I did start to notice this on the bottom of the food processor as the mixture was adhering to the sides, so yes, be very careful of this if you try it yourself. I used a Ninja food processor to make mine and here was the result:
image

Overall with the exception of skipping my yoga class (tomorrow is the free day of yoga, so I can double up) I was able to workout, clean, bake, and create something new. Admittedly, I am two beers deep, how else do you think my eloquence is so goddamned beautiful? My hair is a touch more platinum, and who doesn’t love that? By the way, The Cult is probably one of my favorite bands. I would have loved to see Ian Ashbury back when he was still hot (probably in the early 90’s and I would have been like 12) Anyway, I am rambling, so see you lovlies tomorrow. Happy Labor Day!

4 thoughts on “Paleo baking and almond meal

  1. Lauren I absolutely love those! They don’t always turn out well for me, but when they do I feel like I have to do a happy dance around the kitchen. Like you, baking is my thing and even though I can’t eat 95% of what I bake, I’m slowly learning to bake for ME! Yup. Broke down and bought a serious dieter’s cookbook.

    • Thanks, I really have fun cooking, not to sound sexist, but I think all women do, whether they want to admit to it or not. It is probably a gathering instinct we have!

  2. It takes time to find the right friends! It definitely doesn’t mean anything about either you or them as a person, it’s just a long process to find those right people you really click with. And if you have a Trader Joe’s nearby, they sell awesomely cheap almond flour, for those days you don’t feel like making your own.

    • Yes, I am realizing this. I want to get to know people without paying a cover charge or making an ass out of myself with liquor x_x. It seems like most of the social events in this city (Austin) revolve around drinking or restaurants, which is okay I guess, but I am more into not drinking and making my own food these days, so it is a challenge. Hopefully, I will make some yoga friends if I would stop being so asocial!

Leave a Reply

